Meetings‎ > ‎

Draft Maidstone Special Town Meeting Minutes

posted Jun 27, 2017, 9:39 AM by Bob Champagne-Willis   [ updated Jul 10, 2017, 12:47 PM ]


June 26, 2017

CTO: 7:00 P.M.

ATTENDANCE: Donna Allaire, Ron Allaire, Allen Bouthillier, Donna Bouthillier, Kyle Bouthillier, Lois Cardin, Judith Conant, Shawn Conant, Guilbert Desrochers, Nancy Desrochers, Margaret Fish, Robert Fish, Mary Fitch, Carol Gorham, Carroll Gorham, Bruce Hobaugh, David Hodge, Elaine Hodge, Robert Hodge, Roger Irwin, Susan Irwin, Hanne Kistner, Robert Lancraft, Douglas Lord, Bonnie Lovell, David Lufkin, Louise Lufkin, Lisa McCarthy, Sean McCarthy, Bruno McKenzie, Bradley McVetty, Jason McVetty, Kathy Noyes, Lisa Plourde, Paul Plourde, Carl Ramsdell, Sandra Ramsdell, Bruce Richardson, Mary Richardson, Linda Sanborn, William Sanborn, Lloyd Tippitt, Christopher Von Alt, Mary, Von Alt, Blenda Whitney, Franklin Whitney. Linwood Mixer and Geraldine Gormley were also present.

ARTICLE 1. Shall the Town vote to change the Road Commissioner position to an elected Officer Position for a two-year term?

Sean McCarthy moved to open for discussion. Lloyd Tippitt seconded the motion and the motion carried. There was a lot of discussion on the article.

Lloyd Tippitt moved to close discussion. Bruce Hobaugh seconded the motion and the motion carried.

Shawn Conant required a paper vote. Shawn explained if you vote yes, the article will pass and if you vote no, it will no, it will not. Vote results were 8 yes and 38 no. Article 1 did not pass.

ARTICLE 2. To Elect the Road Commissioner if the above warning passes with the term ending March of 2019.

Article 1 did not pass which voided Article 2. No vote needed.

ARTICLE 3. Shall the Town vote to change election officials to Australian Vote?

Roger Irwin moved to accept Article 3 as printed. Douglas Lord moved to amend the article to read Shall the Town elect its Town Officers by Australian Vote? Bruce Hobaugh seconded the motion and the motion to amend carried.

There was some discussion. A vote was taken and the motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT: Bruce Hobaugh moved to adjourn at 8:08 p.m. It was seconded and the motion carried.

MINUTES as taken by Bonnie Lovell, Town Clerk